top of page

Spotify: Black History and Culture Fellowship


As an African American woman, everything I put out into the world creatively is a representation of my culture. It has a particular point of view that is shared by many, but uniquely my own. Currently I work for Black Entertainment Television's (BET) Brand Creative Department where I assist with the conceptualizations of campaigns, produce promos for linear and digital platforms, as well as, assist with the of the monthly Music Meeting for the Music Programming Department, holding spirited discussions about veteran and new artists, while discussing the current state of Hip-Hop and R&B. It is my personal passion to stay abreast to what is happening within black culture, and make deliberate and concise decisions personally and professionally.

Growing up, my parents offered both sides of the spectrum. My father, a Philadelphia native, was the first introduction to our colorful colloquialisms, vibrancy, tone, and rhythm in the music we curate. His influence provided me with a greater understanding of Black culture and influence which spans generations.

My mother indoctrinated me with history lessons from my own lineage, as well as, those who have paved the way for our future. Whether it was visiting the Black Wax Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, or the Amistad Ship in Mystic, Connecticut. She consistently educated me on the purpose and influence of what it means to be Black.

The struggle, strength, and glow-up of my people is embedded within my DNA, and while the question posed was, “Why black history and culture is important to me personally?”, It is evident that it's not something that can be explained within an essay. It is a result of my actions and everyday encounter with the world around me. With the knowledge passed down from my mother and father, I carry my community's heritage, culture, and spirit with me throughout my collegiate and professional career.

While attending West Chester University of Pennsylvania, I served as the Sub-genre Director for our campus radio station, 91.7 WCUR: The Curve. There I stayed abreast to trends within the pop culture, and provided the DJ’s with new Hip-Hop and R&B music. Combing my love for connecting with mass audiences and music, I co-hosted a weekly music and entertainment program giving local rappers and singers a platform to discuss their upcoming projects.

Watching Hip-Hop and variations of R&B rise to the forefront of popular culture is exciting because it gives the world an opportunity to understand the Black perspective. Joining Spotify for the Shows and Editorial Fellowship: Black History and Culture, would be a major accomplishment and an amazing way to bring my familial and professional experiences full circle. Utilizing my content curation skills across traditional and digital media for Black audiences, whille having a direct connection to the fellowship makes me an ideal candidate for this role. Music is the universal language of love, and acting as the ambassador for Spotify’s North American initiatives would further show the world why #BlackVibesMatter.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page